St George’s RAF Chapel of Remembrance was built in 1951 to preserve the legacy of those who served and died at Biggin Hill during the Second World War. There have been previous attempts to develop a museum on the site as a way to safeguard the future of the building and its legacy. In order to preserve the function of the chapel as a place of worship, a new museum, café, and shop has been built on the site to tell the story of Biggin Hill airfield, the Chapel and the people who served here.
The project has resulted in the creation of a high quality museum and learning offer focused around Biggin Hill and its role during the Second World War. The addition of new facilities such as the café have enhanced the experience for Chapel users and new displays within the Chapel has further improved interpretation of the historic building and surrounding site.